Vegan or Not

I don’t remember the last time I had a day off during a Holiday to get stuff done around the house and get organized – we are either out of town or have visitors and I must say it was a very productive day!

Since we ended up not taking Reese with us to KY for obvious reasons – the biggest being her lack of enthusiasm when it comes to riding in cars! Poor thing is not a fan and even though it was hard to leave her (I may have shed a couple tears when we dropped her off at the kennel..) it was awesome to pick her up today! She was so excited so almost wiggled her way out of my arms!

 

DSCN0077DSCN0084

In other news – we got our first accumulation of snow this winter in Columbus! “Where’s Reese??” Winking smile

It is still snowing and we could get up to an inch or so over night. I love the first couple of snows and then come March and early April, I’m over it! Time for some sunshine!

DSCN0083

On the car ride back from KY Ryan and I talked about incorporating some Vegan meals in our weekly dinners and start meal planning to save money. I love the creative aspect of trying new things and I found this awesome recipe from Oh She Glows, a healthy vegan blog that I have recently started to follow. Ryan is a BBQ fanatic so I thought we could start this challenge off with her Smokey BBQ Chili. I adapted it a little bit from the original recipe but Vegan or no vegan – you should try this recipe out! I used canned black beans and pinto beans instead of the black eyed peas (hard to find!!) and because of this I used half of the vegetable broth and reduced the cooking time in half. We will be eating off of this for days I assure you!

DSCN0088

We ended up taking down all of the Christmas decorations today – I guess its official – Let the new year begin! Off to watch the Season Premier of the Bachelor – ready for some drama!

Please leave a comment!