NYC Trip: Day 1

I got back from NYC one week ago and I still can’t believe I am almost 26 years old and I have never been before.

On our flight we flew right over the city and saw The Statue of Liberty, The Empire State Building, and Central Park – I had no idea how big Central Park was – it was a must see for me!

We arrived in the City around 11:00 and after dropping our bags and meeting up with our group, we walked through the Theater District to the JP Morgan Chase buildings for our meeting.

On the Way we saw Rockefeller Center and they were filming a segment of the Today Show (sorry for the poor pictures..I’m still learning my new camera!)

DSCN0291

DSCN0288

After the meetings we had about an hour before we had to be ready for dinner. Some of the locals knew that a coworker and I had never been to NYC before and since our meeting was so close to Grand Central Station they decided we would go check it out and take the Subway to Times Square. I don’t know what I expected with Grand Central Station.. the only thing I have to compare the Subway system is the MARTA in Atlanta and I didn’t know what to expect. But Grand Central Station was gorgeous! It looked just like it did in the movies. It was much cleaner than I thought too..

DSCN0296

DSCN0301DSCN0295

DSCN0302

It was busy – probably because it was 4:00 on a Thursday. We all squeezed into the Shuttle and took it to Times Square – before now we had only seen it from a distance while walking to our meeting. LIGHTS… BRIGHT LIGHTS is all I have to say!

DSCN0310

DSCN0314

We saw where the ball drops on New Years Eve and the NASDAQ market place where our meeting would be on Friday. I had no idea it was right in the middle of Times Square..!

DSCN0317

We walked the rest of the way to our hotel just in time to freshen up before dinner. We walked a couple blocks to Bobby Van’s. We ended up having a set menu (since there were about 30 of us) and I went with the Scallop, Shrimp, and Spinach Lasagna with Red Pepper Sauce. It was OK.. The white wine and the Chocolate Torte Cake were amazing! No surprise there..! We sat down for dinner at 5:30 and had to be at Jersey Boys at 7:00 so we ate our desserts quickly and headed to THE SHOW!

DSCN0285

“OH WHAT A NIGHT” – seriously… I don’t think I can go back to NYC without going to a Broadway Show. It was amazing! The audience was singing along and it was so entertaining. It was definitely the highlight of my trip. The talent was just unbelievable and we even had the backup as the lead role. A Sippy cup of white wine during intermission always helps – literally a Sippy cup!

DSCN0325DSCN0326

After the show we went to Rosie O’Grady’s for a nightcap  with the group before calling it a night.

Day 2 to follow…!

Please leave a comment!